Live Deliberately

Living each day with deep intention.

A dream is a wish your heart makes…

Leave a comment


I had the pleasure of spending some cuddle time with my daughter this evening while watching Cinderella. The movie is a classic. Disney movies made back when I was a kid offered so much more than entertainment. They taught values, manners, respect… and, by the way, who knew Cinderella was so wise??

Singing along to “A dream is a wish your heart makes…” made me stop and reflect on the meaning behind the lyrics and I thought what a culture we have become. We do quite a bit of day dreaming, wishing, hoping, longing… we dream of a successful and rewarding career, a love so good, traveling, etc. And to some of us, they’re just a day dream and could never be a reality – or so we think.

These dreams are our hearts desires. These aren’t just hopes or passive thoughts. These are desires that deep down, in our hearts, we long for – these are desires, ultimately, for happiness. Think about it… who doesn’t want a rewarding and successful career? Who doesn’t want a beautiful relationship? Who doesn’t want to travel the world? These are just examples (admittedly, my own examples).

So, what’s holding us back? When your heart is screaming at you to go get your happiness… what are we allowing to hold us back? Most likely, they’re excuses. Here’s mine for example.

DESIRE: A rewarding and successful career. EXCUSE: I need financial stability to support my daughter and my purpose is not yet financially rewarding. (Reality: I’m slightly afraid to take the leap… but what I’ve done instead is attempt to make a slow transition until my purpose can support my basic needs.)

DESIRE: A beautiful relationship. EXCUSE: As a single mother, with a job and school, I don’t have time. (Reality: I’m selfish with my time. Weekdays are virtually completely spoken for, but I have most of my weekends – I could meet someone with the same schedule or in the same situation.)

DESIRE: To travel. EXCUSE: Money is mostly accounted for. (Reality: Putting money away little by little and planning in advance for travel is really not that difficult. It’s worked for me in the past. I just need to make the decision and follow through.)

So, what do you desire? What excuses are you allowing to hold you back? What are some options for making your dreams a reality? Make a list.

Go chase your dreams.

Join the conversation.

